Prof. (Dr). A. Elayaperumal

National Institute of Technology Nagaland
(An Institute of National Importance, under Ministry of Education, Govt. of India)
Chumukedima, Dimapur, Nagaland - 797 103
Phone: +91 3862 241801(O)

Prof. (Dr). A.Elayaperumal, who is currently working as a Director, National Institute of Technology Nagaland (An Institution of National Importance under Ministry of Education, Government of India) is an esteemed academician with extensive teaching, research and administrative experience of 32 years, holds a Bachelor of Engineering in Mechanical from College of Engineering, Guindy, Anna University and M. Tech from the prestigious Indian Institute of Technology Madras (IITM), and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the College of Engineering, Guindy, Anna University

With over 32 years of teaching experience, his research expertise encompasses surface engineering, surface coatings, tribology, composites, vibration analysis, composite materials, and nano composites, with notable contributions in surface engineering and coatings. He has published around 200 international publications with total google citations of 7806, H-index of 37 and i10 index of 87. He has guided 20 research scholars and 7 scholars are undergoing. He has also carried out many research and sponsored projects.

He has significantly enriched the academic curriculum by introducing courses like Vibration Analysis and Control, Composite Materials and Mechanics, and Designing with Advanced Materials, Integrated Computational Materials Engineering (ICME) and Surface Engineering at Anna University Chennai. He has established state-of-the-art laboratories including the Tribology Laboratory, Composite Laboratory, Noise, Vibration, Harshness (NVH) Laboratory, and Dynamics Laboratory.

His administrative journey (1992 to 2024) includes roles such as Head of the Engineering Design Division, Director at the Centre for Affiliation of Institutions, Director of Student Affairs, Director of Planning and Development, and Deputy Coordinator for the Technical Educational Quality Improvement Programme (TEQIP) at College of Engineering, Guindy, Anna University. He has received prestigious awards including the Research Excellence Award from Anna University's Vice Chancellor and the Giri Metrology Endowment Award and Eminent Engineer award from Institution of Engineers, India

He holds lifetime memberships in various professional bodies like (i) Indian Institute of Metals(IIM) (ii) Material research society of India(MRSI) (iii) Tribology society of India(TSI) (iv) Electron Microscope society of India(EMSI) (v) Indian Laser association(ILA) (vi) The Institution of Engineers, India. (IEI) (vii) Society of automotive Engineers(SAE). etc.…

He is a member Faculty Selection Committee as Visitor / President Nominee for Central University-Manipur, Central University-Thiruvaarur, Central University-Pondicherry. Member-Board of Governor, NITTTR, Chennai, Member-Executive Council, Central University of Kerala, Member-Building Committee, Central University of Kerala. Member-Faculty Selection Committee as Visitor / President nominee in Engineering and Technology Board for all NITs and IIEST Shipbur. Member-Senate at NIT Puducherry, Member-Expert Committee on “Restructuring / Revamping of the Technical Training Sector and Four National Institute of Technical Teacher Training and Research(NITTTR) constituted by the Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Education, Government of India.

He has visited numerous countries and international universities for various academic pursuits, including Australia, New Zealand, Japan, UK, Canada, USA, Korea, Taiwan, China, Singapore, Thailand, Dubai, Mascot, Oman, Turkey and Malaysia etc.